By Leah Herzog 

WEST ST. PAUL, Minn. – The windy conditions made for a challenging final round at the 2024 Minnesota PGA Foundation Pro-Am presented by Blaze Credit Union. 

Michael Schmitz came into the final round with a 2-shot lead over Andrew Israelson. 

Israelson had a slow start to the day and shot 2-over par on his first nine. 

“I was fairly frustrated,” Israelson expressed, “And bogeyed the first two holes.”

Israelson holed out from 97 yards for eagle on hole 3 to give him the momentum he needed to make a charge for the title. 

Israelson found luck working for and against him throughout the day. 

“It was a grind out there.” Israelson concluded.

With just four holes to play, Israelson sat 3 shots back from Michael Schmitz. 

On his 15th hole (#7), Israelson caught a bad lie in the greenside rough after his attempt to go for the par 5 in two. After hitting a pitch the best he could, he made a two putt par.

Israelson knew he still needed to do more in order to catch Schmitz with only a few holes to play.

In the group behind, Schmitz made an unfortunate bogey on his 14th hole (#5) and proceeded to find trouble on the next hole which resulted in a double-bogey. 

While Schmitz was having a rough finish, Israelson continued to play with everything he had. 

Israelson made an incredible 30 foot putt for birdie on his 16th hole (#7) to go to 2-under par in his round and 9-under par total.

Continuing to give himself a run at the title, Israelson pulled out driver on his 17th hole (#8), which is a risk-reward tee shot. 

After almost chipping in for eagle, he made a tap-in for birdie to get to 10-under par for the tournament. 

Israelson went into the last hole with a three shot lead over Schmitz.

After Isrealson parred his last hole, he was able to lock in the 2024 Minnesota PGA Foundation Pro-Am professional title.

On the other side of the course, Smed/Burleson/Retka/Kennedy continued to hold their lead for the team contest. They ended up winning by one shot at 39-under par. Snyder/Wood/Wood/Honsa took runner up at 38-under par.

Justin Burleson’s 6-over par round of 77 clinched the amateur victory by just one shot over Joe Honsa, who shot a 2-under par 69 in the final round to finish at 2-over par total. 



There were only two other players who shot rounds underpar other than Israelson and Honsa in the final round. Brady Swedberg had a nice round of 2-under par to shoot a 69, while Ross Miller carded a 1-under par 70.

Savannah Nelson was the low Women’s Professional. 

Don Berry earned Senior Professional low honors after a three day total of 69-69-74–212 (-1). 




6,062 YARDS, PAR 71





1. Smed/Burleson/Retka/Kennedy (-39)

2. Snyder/Wood/Wood/Honsa (-38)

T3. Israelson/Flynn/Larson/Busho (-37)

T3. Wynne/Dew/Angell/Kane

5 Sorenson/Daniels/Bosshart/Tufvander (-35)

6. LaCoursiere/LeBlanc/Huebsch/Hayne (-33)

T7. Pluth/Armstrong/Roberts/Bliss (-32)

T7. Berry/Irwin/Clark/Sullivan (-32) 

9. Campbell/Haslerud/Kowalski/Gustafson (-31)

10. Shafranski/Grove/Grove/Eilers (-30)



1. Andrew Israelson 67-68-68–203

2. Michael Schmitz 67-66-72–205

3. Ross Miller 70-68-70-208

T4. Grant Shafranski 68-69-72–209

T4. Scott Cole 67-71-71–209. 

6. Brady Swedberg 70-71-69–210

T7. Trey Fessler 70-70-71–211

T7. Thomas Strandemo 71-69-71–211

T9. Brent Snyder 70-69-73–212

T9. Don Berry 69-69-74–212

T9. Thomas Campbell 65-71-76–212


1. Justin Burleson 66-71-77–214

2. Joe Honsa 72-74-69–215

T3. Logan Mitchell 77-75-75–227

T3. Eric Hayne 74-78-75–227

5. Michael Ingeman 77-76-77–230

6. Jake Erickson 75-75-82–232

T7. Robert Dew 79-73-84–236

T7. Steve Busho 74-76-86–236


For complete tournament results go to: