By Leah Herzog

TOWER, Minn. – After 36 holes, Jeff Sorenson was crowned the champion at the 2023 Minnesota PGA Professional Championship sponsored by Club Car, Corebridge Financial, and Rolex and was hosted at The Wilderness at Fortune Bay in Tower, MN on August 28-29, 2023.

At the conclusion of the first round (August 28), Sorenson shared the lead with Eric Chiles shooting a 5-under par (68). Sorenson and Chiles each had 6 birdies and 1 bogey in their round. Derek Stendahl and Eddie Wynne remained close behind with their 4-under par (67s).

Heading into the second round (August 29), Sorenson started by making a 5 foot putt for birdie on hole 1 which set the tone for his day. He had a bogey free front 9 carding a 3-under par 33 to give him a two shot lead over both Stendahl and Chiles which gave him respectable momentum going into his back 9. 

On the back 9, Sorenson started off with another birdie to put him to 4-under par for the day. He made nice putts for birdie on hole 13 and hole 15 to get to 5-under par in his round. With Sorenson’s steady 4 shot lead, he lagged his birdie putt from 35 feet to 5 feet on the last hole and missed the short putt to finish at a 4-under par 68 and claim the title by 3 shots. Derek Stendahl was able to catch Chiles in the second round to tie for Runner-Up at 6-under par 138. 

Sorenson’s 9-under par 67-68–135 win, secures him a spot in the 2024 National PGA Professional Championship hosted at Fields Ranch at PGA Frisco East & West Courses located in Frisco, Texas on April 28-May 1, 2024. 

The following players also qualified to play in the National PGA Professional Championship due to finishing in the top 8 at the 2023 Minnesota PGA Professional Championship: Eric Chiles, Derek Stendahl, Eddie Wynne, Eric Rolland, Matthew Sandquist, Thomas Campbell, and Blake Lentner.

Angie Ause earned the Low Woman Professional honors shooting 80-82-162.

7,013 YARDS, PAR 72


1. Jeff Sorenson, The Minnikahda Club, 67-68–135

T2. Eric Chiles, Chaska Town Course, 67-71–138 

T2. Derek Stendahl, Rush Creek GC,  68-70-13

4. Eddie Wynne, Les Bolstad GC, 68-71–140

5.Eric Rolland, Augsburg College, 71-69–140

T6. Matthew Sandquist, Edina CC, 72-69–141

T6. Thomas Campbell, Swing Lab Performance Golf, 70-71–141

8. Blake Lentner, Wayzata CC,70-72–142

T9. Don Berry, Edinburgh USA GC, 73-70–143

T9. Brent Snyder, Kilkarney Hills GC, 72-71–143

T9. Bennett Smed, White Bear Yacht Club, 69–74–143


For complete tournament results go to: